2017: God Turning My World Upside Down

Before 2016 ended, I declared that 2017 was going to be the best year yet. As the new year rang in, I found myself excited for what God had in store for me.

2017 began with the Lord deciding to change everything familiar and turn my world upside down during the very first week.

It began January 1st with the big move—moving out of the house that I loved living in with three of my favorite people and moving into a new home with a dear friend. The move was one of the most difficult things I’ve done having to leave such a sweet community, but it was something I know I had to do. God put it on my heart several months ago that my season at the home needed to pass and He made the new search so smooth that I had no choice but to trust Him knowing He had something better in store. He’s shown that to me, but that didn’t make it any easier.

Second, God put something on my heart that I needed to be brave about. He kept pressing that there were words that needed to be shared to someone I cherished dearly. He gave me the boldness to not put if off any longer and reminded me that the lies the enemy wanted me to believe, the excuses I kept making, were invalid and needed to be crushed. It was time. The words somehow came out and immediately afterwards the Lord gave me such peace about it. God held me close that night reminding me of His GREAT plans for me and the unconditional love that He had for me regardless of the outcome.

Two days later, I went into work to discover that my position was to be eliminated. My last day at Goodwill was Friday, January 13th and it took everything in me that day to say “see you later” (I refused to say goodbye) to the sweet community I had made there. The reality hit me that day that the beautiful and encouraging individuals that I got to see and help every single day was over. That season of my life at Goodwill was over. It broke me to leave but God is reminding me of the plans He has for the lives I was able to get to know there. The people I served are strong and take care of each other so well that I know God will continue to provide for them.

And here I am. One week into unemployment. A bit of a bruised heart. Still adjusting to all of these changes and choosing to seek God through it all. He is reminding me daily of His plans for me: “For I know the plans for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future…You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11; 13 He has something great in store for me, for you, for us and I can’t help but be hopeful and excited.

So many things are out of our control. Some things we truly desire and though they aren’t necessarily bad things, it’s not in God’s plan. Not now and maybe not ever. But maybe. In this season of uncertainty for my life both personally and professionally God has been instilling in me bravery yet again. He wants me to have the courage to let go; to let go of my expectations and yes, even my dreams. He wants me to give them all to Him and to trust in His plans and His timing. And that’s what I hope to be doing this year.

Long story short, I still believe that 2017 is going to be the best year yet. It’s going to be the year that God uses me and makes me braver and stronger than I’ve ever been. The year that I learn to depend and trust in Him fully in my future plans and daily decisions. It’s going to be full of loved ones, delicious food, and lots of spontaneous dancing. It will have it’s ups and its downs, but I’ll be strong enough to get through the downs. It won’t be a year of losing great things but in gaining so much more. So here’s to the new year!

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do no worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:33-34

“Whatever happens, my dear brothers and sisters, rejoice in the Lord.” Philippians 3:1

Leave a Reply

